NHS 'Question Time'

Delegates at this year’s RCGP Annual Conference can expect a lively debate in the college’s version of the BBC Question Time panel show.

The one-hour plenary session promises a clash of opinions between panellists including RCGP chair Professor Helen Stokes-Lampard, NHS England’s director of primary care Dr Arvind Madan, and healthcare commentator Roy Lilley.

An audience of up to 1,300 GPs will also have their say, submitting questions to the panel and giving their verdict on the answers.

The NHS ‘Question Time’ Panel:

Chair: Professor Martin Marshall Joint Vice-chair, RCGP

Professor Helen Stokes-Lampard Chair, RCGP

Dr Arvind Madan Director of Primary Care, NHS England

Dr Robina Shah Chair RCGP Patient Carers Partnership Group

Dr Holly Hardy Bristol GP and RCGP Council member

Roy Lilley NHS writer, broadcaster and commentator

The session is set to kick-off the second day of this year’s conference in Liverpool, starting at 9.30am on Friday 13 October. Other plenary speakers include WONCA President Professor Amanda Howe on building a lasting career in general practice and Professor Jako Burgers on why Dutch GPs are happier than their UK colleagues. Sir Tim Smit, co-founder of the Eden Project in Cornwall, has also been confirmed to deliver The John Hunt Lecture on Friday afternoon.